Pundit ClaimsAI claims by Gary Marcus and Ed Zitron, with the evidence

“on how GPT-5's router mode actually costs OpenAI more money to run.”

2025, A Retrospective, paragraph 28. The full statement is at the source.

Our reading, the sentence that was checked:

GPT-5's router mode costs OpenAI more money to run.

Assessment: Unresolved Evidence as of

Where and when Ed Zitron wrote it

Where's Your Ed At, 2025, A Retrospective, paragraph 28.

Said
Source observed
live page, full text, public
Evidence as of
the cutoff for this assessment
Assessment recorded
assessment wyea-2025-a-retrospective-5b6fc1-a1

We recorded 12 claims from this post. See every claim from this post.

The wording above is the version this site observed on 2026-10-28. The source may have been edited after 2025-12-31. This page does not claim the wording was captured then.

What the claim commits to

Kind
Observation
Deadline, as the speaker wrote it
None stated. This site does not add one.
Deadline state when assessed
No horizon
Deadline state on 2026-10-29
No horizon (the release’s reference date)

From the speaker

  • GPT-5's router mode
  • costs OpenAI more money to run
  • reported using internal documents from an infrastructure provider

Our interpretation

  • Read this as a claim about OpenAI's internal serving expense, rather than the prices charged to API customers.
  • The ordinary comparison is comparable requests served with routing versus direct model serving, including any savings from selecting cheaper models.
  • The linked analysis concerns GPT-5's initial August 2025 implementation. Use August 2025 as the target month rather than applying later implementations retroactively.
  • Treat the financial basis as an estimate reported from infrastructure documents, not a disclosed GAAP expense.
  • The comparison baseline is not specified sufficiently to assume a particular direct model or workload mix.

Counts as supported if: Comparable production measurements or authenticated internal cost records show that routing raised OpenAI's total inference expense for matched workloads after accounting for model selection, caching and routing overhead.

Counts as contradicted if: Comparable records show equal or lower total inference expense with routing for the relevant workload and implementation.

Retrospective: these criteria were written after the outcome was public.

Current assessment

Was it true for the period described?

Outcome: Unresolved

The record was checked, and the evidence available by the cutoff does not settle it.

Scored on a plain reading. The speaker named no measure for this claim, so it was judged on the reading an informed reader would take, stated below under our interpretation. Both reviews had to find that reading fair.

Evidence as of
Deadline state when assessed
No horizon
Assessment recorded
Policy version
2026-10-28.7

Rationale

The primary documentation confirms routing but does not disclose whether it increased OpenAI's total serving expense. A router can add overhead while changing which models handle requests; the net cost needs measurement. Research on other routers and API price lists cannot resolve this specific claim.

Limitations

  • The comparison baseline is an evaluator interpretation.
  • The linked report was available only as a preview and was not cited as evidence.
  • Public documentation is not a production cost ledger.

Evidence (1 item)

  • Context only: OpenAI,

    The router is continuously trained on real signals, including when users switch models, preference rates for responses, and measured correctness, improving over time.

    Why it matters here: The launch description establishes that the system uses a router and that its behavior changes with training. It does not disclose the cost comparison needed to assess the claim.

    Publisher
    OpenAI
    Kind of source
    Company disclosure: the company describing itself, not an independent finding
    Describes events of
    Public from

What would settle it

Authenticated August 2025 cost records or a matched production experiment comparing routed and direct serving, with the baseline and all cost components specified.

Where it was said (1)

Said once in the sources this register covers.

  • : Where's Your Ed At, 2025, A Retrospective

    on how GPT-5's router mode actually costs OpenAI more money to run.

    Published
    2025-12-31
    Source observed
    , live page
    Access
    full text, public

History

Assessment versions

Recorded events

  1. Assessment publishedBy this site

    First assessment published after both reviews and the final-text check passed.

    About assessment wyea-2025-a-retrospective-5b6fc1-a1.